Since the 2020 PGA Championship at TPC Harding Park, players have had a chance to earn a spot in the 2021 field

Hideki Matsuyama made history at Augusta National Golf Club on Sunday, becoming the first player from Japan to win the Masters Tournament.

Matsuyama is just the second Asian-born player -- joining Y.E. Yang at the 2009 PGA Championship -- to win a men's major championship.

Matsuyama took control of the Masters on Saturday, thanks to a third-round, 7-under 65 -- one of only two bogey-free rounds all week (Jon Rahm had the other with a 66 on Sunday) -- that allowed him to take a commanding four-stroke lead into the final round.

He would need all of that four-shot lead. Matsuyama finished Sunday with a 1-over 73, which was one stroke better than runner-up Will Zalatoris.

Jordan Spieth and Xander Shauffele finished three shots back at 7 under to tie for third.

The victory was Matsuyama's sixth overall on the PGA Tour and made him the third champion in the last five years to have previously earned low amateur honors: Matsuyama (2021/low amateur in 2011) Tiger Woods (2019/1995), Sergio Garcia (2017/1999); others to accomplish the feat were Cary Middlecoff, Jack Nicklaus, Ben Crenshaw and Phil Mickelson.

With the victory, Matsuyama has earned a spot in the field for the 2021 PGA Championship.

The PGA Tour heads to Hilton Head Island, South Carolina, this week for the RBC Heritage at Harbour Town Golf Links.

Several players have already entered into the 2021 PGA Championship at Kiawah Island in May.

That list includes 15 PGA Champions: Keegan Bradley (2011), Jason Dufner (2013), Jason Day (2015), John Daly (1991) Davis Love III (1997), Phil Mickelson (2005), Padraig Harrington (2008) Martin Kaymer (2010), Brooks Koepka (2018, 2019), Rory McIlroy (2012, 2014) Shaun Micheel (2003), Morikawa (2020), Vijay Singh (1998, 2004), Thomas (2017) and Y.E. Yang (2009).

Additionally, since the calendar turned to 2021, Harris English (Sentry Tournament of Champions), Kevin Na (Sony Open in Hawaii) and Si Woo Kim (The American Express), Patrick Reed (Farmers Insurance Open), Daniel Berger (AT&T Pebble Beach Pro-Am), Max Homa (Genesis Invitational), Branden Grace (Puerto Rico Open) and Matt Jones (Honda Classic) have punched their tickets to the 2021 PGA Championship.

Dustin Johnson, Jim Herman, Jon Rahm, DeChambeau, Stewart Cink, Hudson Swafford, Sergio Garcia, Martin Laird, Jason Kokrak, Patrick Cantlay, Brian Gay, Carlos Ortiz and Jordan Spieth won on the PGA Tour in 2020, following the PGA Championship at TPC Harding Park, and earned a spot.

Winners of PGA TOUR co-sponsored or approved tournaments, from the 2020 Wyndham Championship through the 2021 AT&T Byron Nelson, are eligible to compete in May. A total of 82 players have officially joined the field.

DeChambeau and Rahm finished in the top 15 at TPC Harding Park in August and already earned a spot in the 2021 PGA Championship. The top-15 finishers and ties from the 2020 PGA Championship automatically qualified for 2021.

Those who have entered the 2021 PGA Championship, as of April 11, are:

Beem, Rich – Austin, Texas
Bezuidenhout, Christiaan - SOUTH AFRICA
Bradley, Keegan – Woodstock, Vt.
Casey, Paul – ENGLAND
Champ, Cameron – Sacramento, Calif.
Cink, Stewart – Duluth, Ga.
Coetzee, George – SOUTH AFRICA
Daly, John – Dardanelle, Ark.
Day, Jason – AUSTRALIA
DeChambeau, Bryson – Clovis, Calif.
Detry, Thomas – BELGIUM
Dufner, Jason – Auburn, Ala.
English, Harris – Sea Island, Ga.
Finau, Tony – Lehe, Utah
Fleetwood, Tommy – ENGLAND
Fowler, Rickie – Murrieta, Calif.
Frittelli, Dylan – SOUTH AFRICA
Garcia, Sergio – SPAIN
Grace, Brendan – SOUTH AFRICA
Hadwin, Adam – CANADA
Harrington, Padraig – IRELAND
Hatton, Tyrrell – ENGLAND
Herbert, Lucas - AUSTRALIA
Herman, Jim – Palm City, Fla.
Hojgaard, Rasmus – DENMARK
Homa, Max – Valencia, Calif.
Horschel, Billy – Ponte Vedra Beach, Fla.
Horsfield, Sam – ENGLAND
Hovland, Viktor – NORWAY
Janewattananond, Jazz – THAILAND
Johnson, Dustin – N. Palm Beach, Fla.
Johnson, Zach - Cedar Rapids, Iowa
Jones, Matt – AUSTRALIA
Kaymer, Martin - GERMANY
Koepka, Brooks – West Palm Beach, Fla.
Kokrak, Jason - Hudson, Ohio
Kuchar, Matt - Sea Island, Ga.
Laird, Martin – SCOTLAND
Leishman, Marc – AUSTRALIA
Lewis, Tom – ENGLAND
Love III, Davis – St. Simons Island, Ga.
Lowry, Shane – IRELAND
McIlroy, Rory – N. IRELAND
Micheel, Shaun – Memphis, Tenn.
Mickelson, Phil – Rancho Santa Fe, Calif.
Molinari, Francesco - ITALY
Morikawa, Collin – La Canada, Calif.
Na, Kevin – Las Vegas, Nev.
Noren, Alex – SWEDEN 
Ortiz, Carlos – MÉXICO
Perez, Victor - FRANCE
Pieters, Thomas – BELGIUM
Poulter, Ian – ENGLAND
Rahm, Jon – SPAIN
Rai, Aaron – ENGLAND
Reavie, Chez – Scottsdale, Ariz.
Reed, Patrick – Houston, Texas
Rose, Justin – ENGLAND
Shauffele, Xander – San Diego, Calif.
Scheffler, Scottie - Dallas, Texas
Scott, Adam – AUSTRALIA
Scrivener, Jason – AUSTRALIA
Simpson, Webb - Charlotte, N.C.
Singh, Vijay – FIJI ISLANDS
Stenson, Henrik – SWEDEN
Streelman, Kevin – Wheaton, Ill.
Stricker, Steve – Madison, Wis.
Sullivan, Andrew - ENGLAND
Swafford, Hudson – Sea Island, Ga.
Thomas, Justin – Louisville, Ky.
Välimäki, Sami - FINLAND
van Rooyen, Erik – SOUTH AFRICA
Van tonder, Daniel – SOUTH AFRICA
Wallace, Matt – ENGLAND
Watson, Bubba – Bagdad, Fla.
Westwood, Lee - ENGLAND
Wiesberger, Bernd – AUSTRIA
Willett, Danny – ENGLAND
Wolff, Matthew – Agoura Hills, Calif.
Woodland, Gary – Topeka, Kan.
Yang, Y.E. – Dallas, Texas

Keep yourself informed with all of the information and news from the 2021 PGA Championship.
We appreciate your interest in and excitement for the 2021 PGA Championship. We will be sharing important updates as they become available.
We use cookies to understand how you use our site and to improve your experience. This includes personalizing content and advertising. To learn more, click here. By continuing to use our site, you accept our use of cookies and revised Privacy Policy.